Main Event – 21st Sept 2016

Click on the highlighted links below to view videos of Panel Discussion Sessions

Wed 21st Sept

Welcome Speech
Hon Dr Fred Matiang’i, Cabinet Secretary for Education, Kenya
Introduced by Eng Victor Kyalo, Principal Secretary, Ministry of ICT, Kenya

Microsoft Opening Session: African Investment in Digital Learning Technologies
Chair: Mr Warren Hero, National Technology Officer: Microsoft South Africa
Dr Belio Kipsang’ – Principal Secretary, Ministry of Education, KENYA
Janvier Ismael Gasana – Director General, Rwanda Education Board, Ministry of Education, RWANDA
HE Maria Augusta da Silva Martins – Secretary of State for Innovation in Higher Education, ANGOLA
Edward Ssebukyu – Assistant Commissioner, Ministry of Education & Sports, UGANDA

Panel Session: Connectivity & the ICT Ecosystem for Africa
Chair: Mr Nigel Bruin, Principal Consultant: Huawei Technologies
Hon Khotso Letsatsi – Minister Communications, Science & Technology, LESOTHO
HE Dr Pedro Sebastião Teta – Secretary of State for ICT, ANGOLA
Eng Victor Kyalo – Principal Secretary, Ministry of ICT, KENYA
Mr Lebogang Mothiba – Head of the Office of Deputy Minister of Telecommunications, SOUTH AFRICA

Panel Session: Developing African ICT Skills in Higher Education
Chair: Mr Nick Nesbitt, General Manager: IBM East Africa
Dr Seydina Moussa Ndiaye – Director of the Centre of Networks & Information Systems, SENEGAL
Dr Alfred Van Kent – Permanent Secretary for Higher Education, Training & Innovation, NAMIBIA
Prof Silas Lwakabamba – Vice Chancellor, University of Kibungo, RWANDA
Prof Ravi Srinivasan – Pro-Vice Chancellor, Botho University, BOTSWANA
Prof Timothy Mwololo Waema – Professor of Information Systems, University of Nairobi, KENYA

Panel Session: Vocational & Technical Skills in African Schools & Colleges
Chair: Mr Nick Broda, Regional Business Director: JP-Inspiring Knowledge
Hon Marie Lydia Toto Raharimalala – Minister of TVET & Employment, MADAGASCAR
Hon Prof Anthony Anwukah – Minister of State for Education, NIGERIA
Meshack Okwara – Director for Vocational & Technical Training, KENYA
Mr Justin Kouekam – Permanent Secretary of Employment & Vocational Training, CAMEROON
Dr Celso Laice – Permanent Secretary for Science, Technology, Professional Education, MOZAMBIQUE

Education and Knowledge, for the Future of Africa
Bernd Gienger, Head of EMEA: Festo