Main Event – 22nd Sept 2016

Click on the highlighted links below to view videos of Panel Discussion Sessions

Thu 22nd Sept

Welcome Speech
Hon Joe Mucheru, Cabinet Secretary of ICT, Kenya Ministry of ICT

Panel Session: African Ownership of Science, Research & Technology
Chair: Mr Jimmy Li, Chief Solutions Officer: Inspur Technologies
Hon Dr Elioda Tumwesigye – Minister of Science, Technology & Innovation, UGANDA
Hon Dr Win BJ Mlambo – Deputy Minister of ICT, Postal & Courier Services, ZIMBABWE
Dr Shumete Gizaw – Director General, Ministry of Science & Technology, ETHIOPIA
Dr Mrs Elizabeth Vukeh Tamajong – Director of Research, Ministry of Scientific Research, CAMEROON

Panel Session: Knowledge & Technology Transfer for African Innovation
Chair: Mr Juan Ponelli, President (Africa): Positivo BGH Africa
Hon Jean Martin Coulibaly – Minister of National Education and Literacy, BURKINA FASO
Mr Rolland Justet Rabeson – Secretary General for National Education, MADAGASCAR
Mr Laban Shapange – Chief Director, Ministry of Education, Arts & Culture, NAMIBIA
Mr Isaac Maredi – Chief Director, Innovation, Ministry of Science & Technology, SOUTH AFRICA

Panel Session: Designing Classroom Technology for African Students
Chair: Mr Amaral Carvalho, Director of Education Business Development: Bi-Bright
Hon Jean Ernest Bibehe – Minister of Secondary Education, CAMEROON
Hon Dr Mahali Phamotse – Minister of Education & Training, LESOTHO
HE César Augusto Mba Abogo – Secretary of State for Horizon 2020, EQUATORIAL GUINEA
Mr Enoch Rabotapi – Chief Director for Education Human Resource Development, SOUTH AFRICA
Mr Simon Coles – Deputy Permanent Secretary for Education & Skills Development, BOTSWANA

Panel Session: Curriculum Development & Teacher Training for African Content
Chair: Mrs Angela Ney, Co-Founder: Teachers Media International
Hon Deng Deng Hoc Yai – Minister of General Education & Instruction, SOUTH SUDAN
Hon Prof Paul Mavima – Deputy Minister of Primary & Secondary Education, ZIMBABWE
Dr Julius Jwan – CEO, Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development, KENYA
Mr Jacob Aaworb-Nang Maabobr Kor – Director General, Ghana Education Service, GHANA
Ms Dinah Mwaita – Senior Deputy Director, Teachers Service Commission, KENYA